When did you become a “second choice” girl?

Tonight, after dinner, my mom and I sat down to chat about “how to’s” of getting the guy. I mean, seriously, we have all manipulated ourselves to get his attention. We post pictures so he can see it, like it, and follow up with the “hey beautiful” text. We tweet catchy things hoping to get that heart. We even Facebook it up to catch up on his favorite types of music, movies, and witty jokes (inevitably found in his bio, of course). My mom talked about the benefits of playing “hard to get” and how it earns you a degree of self-respect in his little black book. But, Mom, in all seriousness,

What guy worth getting makes you feel like you need to play hard to get?

He should be jumping out of his skin to get you. You’re not a back up plan and you’re not his second choice or lonely-night text. You don’t have to manipulate yourself to look better to him, because the right guy will find you perfect in all of your flaws. You don’t have to play a mind game with Mr. Right because, to him, the thought of someone else getting the chance to have you is just unacceptable. He his proud to call you his- even with your no-filter snapchats. He’ll let you know that you’re not just an option with his actions, not his words.

You weren’t created to take the back seat or to feel like any less than you are. Ephesians 2:10 says, “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” You were created for glory, honor, and kinship, and if he can’t see that, he is a fool. If he can’t honor and love you the way you were made to be honored and loved, he doesn’t deserve you.

If he doesn’t pursue you with the same fervor that The Lord has pursued you, don’t waste your time.

The Lord sacrificed His son, and this sucker can’t even sacrifice his pride? In Deuteronomy 7, Moses stresses

“7 It was not because you were more numerous than any other people that the Lord set his heart on you and chose you—for you were the fewest of all peoples. It was because the Lord loved you and kept the oath that he swore to your ancestors, that the Lord has brought you out with a mighty hand, and redeemed you from the house of slavery, from the hand of Pharaoh king of Egypt.”

You weren’t chosen by The Lord because you are more or less than anyone else. In fact, even if you were the lowest he would chose you. He loves you and maintains His promises. He is strong and steadfast, and will face defeat for Your salvation. In the same way, you shouldn’t have to impress a guy because you are no point of comparison. Even at your lowest, he should choose you because he loves you and isn’t afraid to pursue you. Stop making excuses for him. If you held him to the standards Jesus has shown and he is continually falling short, it is time to question the love he is showing you. Would he choose you at your lowest? Or are you one bad post from falling short of his expectations?

But it is HARD, and I mean HARD, to watch those around you parading in love, happiness, and punny-yet-adorable Instagram posts. It’s hard to feel like you’re the odd man out and that you’re going to die alone and unsatisfied with 89 cats. But no guy that is making you participate in his childish mind game will make you happy long-term. The moment he knows he has you, his mind and heart will again be on the hunt. The guy who was meant to love you will never make you feel like a “second-choice” girl. You’re his top priority and he doesn’t care who knows it. You’ll never question your worth with him because you’ll see it in the way he looks at you fresh out of bed with absolutely no make-up on. On Instagram this morning, I saw a picture of a girl, posted by her boyfriend, with the caption “Do you know what it is like to walk into a room and have everyone look at the girl on your arm?” I found myself totally jealous of her. I mean this guy stinkin’ adores her and, according to him, so does everyone else. But, the more I think about it, I want “my guy” to be proudest when I fall asleep while cramming for my exams. I want him to wake me up in the morning with a cup of coffee and think “wow, I’m lucky” while I lay in bed slobbering all over myself. You’re not “the girl on his arm,” you are the love of his life day after day. You’re a force to be reckoned with- an overflowing of intelligence, beauty, and faith. Don’t settle for being his show piece because you owe yourself more than that. Even more, you are promised more than that. A love created on lust and awesome selfies is fleeting and won’t last forever. The guy you get because you had to play “hard to get” won’t stand beside you when you’re old and grey.

You were created for more and raised for more. This is why your dad didn’t want you to date until you were 38. Consider the way your mom looked at you at your fourth grade dance recital. Think about the way your brother threatened to kill any guy that laid a finger on you. Think about the way your dad, who never cries, held back tears while dropping you off at college. Think about how, when you were most sinful, Jesus still loved you enough to lay His life down. Ask yourself,

When did you become a “second choice” girl?

 

43 thoughts on “When did you become a “second choice” girl?

  1. I love this so much ! I will share this my daughter and with my son so he know how to treat a girl! You’re an insightful, compassionate girl who will choose a mate with whom she is equally yoked!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s easy to write things from what you’ve seen, I agree and add that boys tend to have the same problem. They treat accessible women as the goal, since girls with standards seem aloof in today’s society. Equally, they work towards that goal by using superficial methods parallel to those written above. However, when a boy or girl complains that they only attract the rotten ones or that their significant others have cheated on them, it’s easy to see them as the victim. They are still a victim, and I in no way want to diminish their pain, but they also ultimately have a hand in the perpetuate perpetration of the cycle of disfunction. Regarding this piece, no one should need this spoon-fed external validation: every woman and man is innately valued as created; this should not be a novel idea, but rather a lament that we’ve let our standards sink to lower than they ought to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Incredible! I absolutely love this. It’s such a good read when it seems like everyone around me is swept up in these picture-perfect relationships on social media. Such a powerful reminder to wait for the right guy, even when it feels impossibly hard. I look forward to reading more from you! 🙂

    Like

  4. First of all, this is definitely beautiful. You wove together a fantastic masterpiece of a message to encourage others to wait for the right one. The guy that sees a young woman’s worth and treasures her for it. The problem is that there are so few people in this world who get to experience this phenomenon. As a single young woman who is quickly approaching her 30s, I can tell you that we can’t all get the fairy tale guy. Sometimes he’s the guy who loves God, has a good job, and a sense of humor, but isn’t great with whole expressing feelings/appreciation thing. Sometimes he only has half the qualities on that list but he demonstrates his feelings passionately. Can you have it all? Some do. But be careful while encouraging women to relentlessly pursue the “fantasy” guy. Chances are that you could end up alone. Or maybe the just-good-enough guy was your “one” and you see him because you were looking for someone else….just a thought….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Exactly my thought. While this article is true to a degree, I’ve seen plenty of (still single) girls who are demanding to be adored no matter what, while holding out for that “Mr. Perfect” who passes over them, and refusing good men just because they aren’t a dreamboat. I would encourage girls not to just fold your arms and insist that Sir Lancelot sweep you off your feet in your sweatpants, cultivate the same qualities that you want in a husband. Be lovely. Be generous. Be feminine, in the beautiful sense of the word. Be nurturing to others. Be kind to everyone (little brother, the hobo, the waitress, the cop who pulled you over) and love them unconditionally. “It’s more important to be the right person than to find the right person” was a golden piece of advice my dad gave me. Birds of a feather flock together. He’ll find you if you’ve got the same feathers and are flying in the right direction.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I can add to this just a bit that if you still think it’s the best you can do and marry someone to whom you are made to feel second choice, it just gets worse. Before you know it, you are way past second on the list and he makes sure you never feel secure in the relationship. Just as this articles says, “You deserve better treatment and more love than that.”

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Don’t forget there are also people out there who honestly joyful in their singleness. I love being single. I’ve never been one of those girls who planned their imaginary weddings as kids or make lists as to what their “prince charming” will be like. I swore off dating when I was 15. I am perfectly happy with the possibility of being a crazy cat lady for the rest of my life. I’ve also never wanted kids, so that makes it harder to find a guy as well. If I eventually am found by a guy that fits my fancy (“found because I don’t look) and we get married, so be it. But I’m not one to base my life nor my happiness on whether I have a man or not. Single does not equal lonely.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well said and very true. A lesson I did not have the need to learn until recently, but every girl should know. I most deffinately was the fall back plan when the friends were unavailable. I am also fortunate that he did not take advantage of me. In many ways he treated me with respect, but I would never have been more important than his friends. I am greatful to him and think the biggest lesson I learned was that I get to and will set the standard for who is with me. I did not have to do that with my husband of 34 years, who died suddenly 5 years ago.. There was an equally mutual desire to be each other’s first choice. I am glad for the experiecne and am adjusting to it being over. It was short, fun, and worth it for the lessons I learned. You should share it with your kids. Everyone, both your sons and daughters deserve tobe someones first choice. I have seen this happen to boys as well. Even my son.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for being vulnerable and sharing this. I have never met you and there is a great certainty I never will, but I just wanted to reassure you how amazing and awesome you are. I can’t imagine the emotion and tears of your journey, but you are much more than a “second choice at best.” Any man who thinks that is a fool. You are victorious in your cause and I applaud you for being a voice in that. While men can be foolish, the fact is that all of us were not created to follow the route of a typical “family” woman. Some women are created infertile, some give birth to children with special needs, and some become mothers to adopted children. We were not all created the same because, if we all loved in the same way, there would be gaping holes for those in need. I reassure you that, though indecipherable, the journey you have been sent on is not in vain. Perhaps you have been called to love in a different way. A man does not define you. Not a man in the past or a man in the future. You are a first choice girl because you were created as so. Love in a way that reflects the Creator. I read today that “without brokenness, there would be not room to show light.” Let your light shine, girl.

      You’re awesome and don’t forget it!!

      Like

  8. Really good points made here – you absolutely deserve a guy who is head-over-heels for you, but your mother is also right about doing some fact-checking and presenting a good image. Here’s a reasons why I feel it’s important to consider what your mother said in order to get what you want:

    I had a really good friend for about 10-years. Came from a broken home, down on his luck and he ended up living with my family on and off for a couple of years. During that time he got him cleaned up and ready to take on the world but along the way he was having serious problems in the few relationships he had along the way.

    Ultimately the problem was – he though his “perfect” match was a tiny, brunette who would look after him, cook for him and look great on his arm. I introduced him to a co-worker who was extremely outgoing, on the chubbier side and as far away from being a yes-woman as anyone I had met. They fell head-over-heels for each other upon first site and have been married for almost 20-years…

    I knew enough about each of them to know they were a really great match. I did my research.

    So I guess my point is, you should meet as many guys as you can, and let them know the real you, but present an image of the person you want to be and the person who is meant to be with you will buy into it and jump at the opportunity to spend time with you.

    Good luck. Great blog, and Happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ryan, you continue to inspire me! Every girl needs to read this and remind themselves this every now and then. Keep writing, I love your work! Miss you!!

    Like

Leave a comment